Brush Up On Driving Skills to Prevent Car Accidents and Injuries
If you were required to reapply for a learner’s permit and retake your driver’s license, would you pass? If you are an experienced Florida driver who has been behind the wheel for years, your answer to this question is probably yes, even though your memory may be fuzzy on the actual knowledge and skills required. Driver’s licensing procedures are designed to ensure safety on the roads and to prevent car accidents and injuries. Use the following as a sort of refresher course, to help protect yourself and your passengers.
Can You Remember Getting a Learner’s Permit?
For most of us, it has been many years since we originally applied for a learner’s permit, and many of the procedures have changed in response to our increased knowledge about the causes of car accidents and injuries. Today, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) requires young drivers to do the following:
- Complete Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE): A four-hour online course divided into 10 separate lessons, it covers everything from the effects of drugs and alcohol on driving ability to best practices when driving in high traffic conditions or inclement weather. At the end, drivers are given a 40-question exam and need a score of at least 80 percent correct in order to pass.
- Take the Florida knowledge exam: This consists of 50 multiple choice questions, 45 of which are in regards to road rules, with five questions concerning traffic signs. As with the TLSAE, you need a score of at least 80 percent correct to pass.
In addition to the above testing, you will also be required to pass a vision and hearing exam. The ability to see clearly and to hear car horns, screeching tires, or potential problems in your vehicle operating system plays an important role in helping to prevent car accidents. When is the last time you had your vision or hearing checked?
Brushing Up on Florida Road Rules
Many of us pride ourselves on being safe drivers, yet we may have forgotten some of the most basic rules listed in the Florida Drivers Handbook, or even some of the skills required to pass our driver’s licensing exam. If you took the test today, you would be required to perform the following:
- Three point turns: This requires you to turn your car completely around in a limited, 30 to 40 foot space.
- Backing up: You would be expected to drive 50 feet or so in reverse, looking over your shoulder for obstacles.
- Signaling: Failing to signal at least 100 feet before a turn could cause you to fail your license exam.
- Complete stops: Doing ‘rolling stops’ at traffic signs and signals could also cause you to fail the exam.
Unfortunately, even the safest drivers can end up being involved in a collision. If you suffer injuries due to the reckless actions of another driver, contact the Law Firm of William E. Raikes III and request a free consultation with our Fort Pierce car accident attorney.